Australian Broadcasting Corporation is Australia’s national broadcaster, founded in 1929. It is was funded by the direct grants from the Australian government but is expressly independent under the government and partisan politics. The ABC plays a leading role in journalistic independence and is fundamental in the history of broadcasting in Australia.

ABC Australia


Modeled on the BBC in the United Kingdom, which is owned and controlled by the UK government, the ABC was originally financed by consumer licence fees on broadcast receivers. Licence fees were abolished in 1973 and replaced principally by direct government grants, as well as revenue from commercial activities related to its core broadcasting mission.

The ABC now provides radio, television, online and mobile services throughout metropolitan and regional Australia and overseas through ABC Australia and Radio Australia. The ABC’s headquarters is in Ultimo, an inner-city suburb of Sydney, New South Wales.

ABC Radio

The ABC radio in Australia was first established in Sydney on 23 November 1923 under the call sign 2SB with other stations in Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth and Hobart following. Following a 1927 royal commission inquiry into radio licensing issues, the government established the National Broadcasting Service which subsequently took over a number of the larger funded stations.

The stations were reformed into a cohesive broadcasting organization through regular program relays, coordinated by a centralized bureaucracy. The Australian broadcast radio spectrum was constituted of the ABC and the commercial sector.

It also nationalized the Australian Broadcasting Company which had been created by entertainment interests to supply programs to various radio stations. On 1 July 1932, the Australian Broadcasting Commission was established, taking over the operations of the National Broadcasting Service and eventually establishing offices in each of Australia’s capital cities.

ABC News Radio

You can listen to the ABC news radio by Downloading the ABC listen to app to NewsRadio live, podcasts, create a playlist, and download episodes to listen offline.

ABC Australia Iview

ABC Australia Iview is a video on demand and catch up TV service run by the Australian Broadcasting Corporation. Currently, iview video content can only be viewed by users in Australia. Iview attracts around 50 million plays monthly and accounts for around half of the total time streamed by Australian TV video services.
ABC iview provides on-demand access to almost all the TV programs that are broadcast on ABC TV linear broadcast channels (ABC, ABC Comedy, ABC Me, ABC Kids, ABC News), as well as simulcast live streams of those channels and original content and programs acquired exclusively for ABC iview.

ABC iview programs are categorised by these genres:

  1. Arts and culture
  2. Comedy
  3. Documentary
  4. Drama
  5. Education
  6. Lifestyle
  7. News and current affairs
  8. Panel and discussion
  9. Regional Australia
  10. Sport

ABC Australia Insiders

ABC Australia Insiders is an Australian news and talk television program produced by ABC News, and hosted by David Speers. The program debuted on 15 July 2001, hosted by Barrie Cassidy until June 2019. Similar to the Sunday morning talk shows in the United States, Insiders analyses and discusses Australian politics with the use of a panel of political journalists and columnists and interviews with prominent politicians and commentators.

The show is part of the ABC’s Sunday morning line-up, commencing with Insiders, followed by Offsiders, a sports program initiated and formerly hosted by Cassidy, and now hosted by Kelli Underwood.

Fran Kelly hosted the show while Barrie Cassidy was on long service leave, and Chris Uhlmann, prior to his move to the Nine Network, also hosted the show in Cassidy’s absence.

ABC Australia Contacts

ABC Head Office:
Australian Broadcasting Corporation
ABC Ultimo Centre
700 Harris Street
Ultimo NSW 2007
(GPO Box 9994
Sydney NSW 2001)
National Radio triple j
Talkback: 1300 055 536
SMS: 0439 757 555

  • Radio National
    Talkback: 1300 22 55 76 (Life Matters on Friday’s only)
  • ABC Radio Sydney
    Talkback: 1300 222 702
    SMS: 0467 922 702
  • ABC Radio Melbourne
    Talkback: 1300 222 774
    SMS: 0437 774 774
  • ABC Radio Brisbane
    Talkback: 1300 222 612
    SMS: 0467 922 612
  • ABC Radio Perth
    Talkback: 1300 222 720
    SMS: 0437 922 720
  • ABC Radio Adelaide
    Talkback: 1300 222 891
    SMS: 0467 922 891
  • ABC Radio Canberra
    Talkback: 1300 681 666
    SMS: 0467 922 666
  • ABC Radio Darwin
    Talkback: 1300 057 222
    SMS: 0487 991 057
  • ABC Radio Hobart
    Talkback: 1300 222 936
    SMS: 0438 922 936

ABC Australia Education

ABC TV Education’s extended schedule to support students, teachers, and parents with home-based learning commences on Tuesday.

Each weekday will start with content for Lower Primary students at 10am. Primary and Lower Secondary level content will continue throughout the morning. Programming then progresses up to Secondary level content in the afternoons.

And remember, there is an enhanced collection of carefully curated education content always available on iview.

ABC Australia Shows

List coming up soon

ABC Australia Presenters

1. Emma Alberici
2. Mike Bailey (weatherman)
3. Scott Bevan (journalist)
4. Kathy Bowlen
5. Frederick Spencer Burnell
6. Steve Cannane
7. Alan Carpenter
8. Karina Carvalho
9. Barrie Cassidy
10. Ros Childs
11. Michael Coggan
12. Keith Conlon
13. Annabel Crabb
14. Felicity Davey
15. Mary Delahunty
16. Quentin Dempster
17. James Dibble
18. Sean Dorney
19. Jane Doyle
20. Edwin Maher
21. Malarndirri McCarthy
22. James McHale
23. Sue McIntosh
24. Maxine McKew
25. Ali Moore
26. Richard Morecroft
27. Rebecca Morse (journalist)
28. Kerry O’Brien (journalist)
29. Tamara Oudyn
30. Janice Petersen
31. Juanita Phillips
32. Angela Pippos
33. Andrew Probyn
34. Michael Rowland (news presenter)
35. Leigh Sales
36. Sally Sara
37. Craig Smart (journalist)
38. David Speers
39. Ross Symonds
40. Kumi Taguchi (journalist)
41. John Taylor (presenter)
42. Virginia Trioli
43. Chris Uhlmann